Komi Says: This is the East, NOT the West!

#MSPsays: No wonder, I had an impression on Cebuana girls (the pretty ones) as liberated, stubborn and carefree (Annabelle Rama and Ellen Adarna, for instance). But not all, since there are Cebuano people I like (e.g., Vina Morales, Richard Yap, Enrique Gil).

But there are some people who think that Ilonggo people are actually–arrogant. Well, FYI, I have a better impression towards Ilonggo people. MDS, for instance, and I have talked to Ilonggo people–and I find them more approachable.

I ain’t being ethnicist, you see. However, I have an impression that elitist GTalkers (this is just a small group of GTalkers, there are some who are mediators) from different backgrounds praise anything Western due to watching A LOT of U.S. shows–and usually, this factor reflects how they judge Filipino stars.

So most of them admire Maja Salvador dahil they think she’s… totoong tao? I don’t think so, and there’s something in her why I never liked her at the first place. Masarap gumawa ng blog entry about elitist GTalkers vs. FP-tards nga, eh. Sa U.S. pa lang, Maja will receive crappy comments~even from Perez Hilton.

#KomiSays: In Asia, social and cultural dictates state that straightforwardness and frankness and/or a strong personality is actually being frowned upon–or rude. Face it, Deal with it. You are not welcome in an Asian community if you happen to have an attitude like Erika Sawajiri. In other words, this is the EAST, NOT the WEST.

Don’t tell me, you’ll say, “I don’t buy that fact blah blah blah.” If you think being frank and straightforward is GOOD, it should be done in good taste, not in a bad taste.

#MSPsays: In the Philippines, individuality isn’t really very much appreciated. If you happen to be frank and straightforward, make sure you do not sound like a know-it-all, since everyone is really conscious of how people judge them. You know, we are in a judgmental society–but in the West, nobody gives a fuck about it.

And don’t gemme started with being “pa-tweetums.” Kapag mabait at hindi controversial sa TV, plastic na kaagad? If you’re pertaining to Toni Gonzaga and Kim Chiu, I won’t mind–but if that was Sarah Geronimo, mind you that even though she’s snob in person, Sarah has proven to anyone that she’s more than being goody-two-shoes.

To these elitist GTalkers, I have been observing the way you write your entries. I understand you are well-off enough to comment like a Westerner, but I only encountered a few of them who could comment harshly.

No wonder, those who frequently watch U.S. shows think that Pinoy teleseryes are “baduy” and “walang originality.” Well, it can’t be helped. TV networks hire scriptwriters and rather, bribe them to please the general audience. As a person who has watched TV through the years, I have watched various US shows and gah, I never got the hype about them. If you want more diversity, I suggest you watch US movies.

Now I have the impression that elitist GTalkers do not realize that:

Not everything American is always, right, correct and/or superior.

Some Americans do not like their culture–and support those who actually protest against it.

I have a lot of American friends, but I admire the way they embrace diversity and tolerance. To those who think that being Westernized is the term, no it’s not. It’s actually “globalized.”

Globalization does not always equate to Westernization. Westernization is adopting all things Western, period. However, globalization means embracing diversity–in general.

Well, I actually learned to love Japanese culture and embrace it, and finally learning Nihongo for good. Here, I actually embrace things that are Asian, but with high regard. Therefore, if you were to ask me, I’d rather watch TV shows that are actually Asian–Japanese, Korean or Taiwanese, you name it. I don’t watch US TV series because it really bores me.

#KomiSays: Now you see why I won’t be much of a fan of Lea Salonga and Ellen Adarna–first of all, elitist GTalkers tolerate their “liberated-ness,” but they cannot do the same to Annabelle Rama. Just because you’re good-looking by Filipino standards does not mean you are allowed to become liberated and arrogant at the same time, and I really do not buy the fact that being liberated and arrogant should be tolerated. Try to teach those to the younger ones, those are wrong values. Not to impose double standards, but if American celebrities would be liberated, I won’t mind, but Filipinas? Meh, they’re in the Philippines, not in the United States. I’d rather idolize people like Solenn Heussaff and Lovi Poe since they have proven that you could still be liberated with class. Same with Alessandra de Rossi (she actually fails when it comes to speech! lelz).

To elitist GirlTalkers, I am not expecting every artist/celebrity should act prim and proper, since it is too old-school.

#MSPsays: Whenever I watch a Japanese drama, I really feel bad about myself whenever I see Japanese women on TV. You name it, Yui Aragaki, Ryoko Hirosue and the obachan’s that you see on TV~and housewives? They actually defeated the ideal “Dalagang Filipina” by their “Yamato Nadeshiko” traits. If you’re going to see the “Most Liked” chart, being a liberated, carefree and stubborn woman is actually frowned upon, and you have to live by it–in some way, I do not actually approve of Japan’s misogynist standards, but when you see Japanese women depicted in dramas, most of them are soft-spoken, demure, pure and innocent. This made me feel that, “Oh, I think Gakky pwns Ellen Adarna after all.”

Maybe it’s just me, or I think that being the “Maria Clara” is still idealized by men. God, I just hate it when these men judge a woman by the way she acts. There are those who act demure but is GOOD in bed.

Well, it can’t be helped. Just live by it–you could be yourself in private, but not in public. After all, being totoong tao is only applied if you are free to roam around in private. That is reality.